Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, has sworn in the chairmen of the 18 Local Government Areas elected in Saturday’s council election.


Obaseki swore them in on Monday while expressing confidence in their ability to collaborate with the state government to bring good governance to the people, saying they were carefully selected by the Peoples’ Democratic Party, PDP, and elected by the people.


Obaseki urged the new chairmen to focus on developing their areas and to ensure that the environment is clean.


However, the chairman of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in Delta, Retd. Col. David Imuse said no local government election took place Saturday, hence there should be no attempt to swear in any person or persons as chairmen or councillors on the basis of the election.


Blaze Fm