Kenya elections: Seven female governor-elects to be sworn in 

August 25, 2022


Seven female governor-elects will be sworn in this Thursday in Kenya following the conclusion of the country’s general election.


Reports say, this is a record win for women as the seven governor-elects have ushered a new wave of female leaders occupying influential positions previously won by men.


The seven are Susan Kihika (Nakuru County), Fatuma Achani (Kwale County), Kawira Mwangaza (Meru County), Gladys Wanga (Homa Bay County), Cecily Mbarire (Embu County), Wavinya Ndeti (Machakos County) and Anne Waiguru (Kirinyaga County).


Kenya’s first female Chief Justice Martha Koome has appointed 45 judges to preside over the swearing-in ceremony of the incoming governors.



Governors are in charge of huge budgets, and are expected to spearhead development in their counties.

blaze 91.5fm

Advertise with us:

latest News

Related Posts